The Countdown clock keeps ticking…

As the ride gets closer we are getting more information from Help for Heroes about the logistics of the ride, getting to Paris, setting off, the route and the finale in London which is sounding fantastic. The last information is that another 900 or so cyclists who will have ridden from all over the UK will be meeting the 300 of us who have ridden from Paris at Blackheath and head to Whitehall to lay a wreath, not at the Cenotaph as previously thought as it is being refurbished in preparation for the centenary of the outbreak of WW1 next year but at the National Memorial to the women of World War II

20130513-230843.jpg
After that short pause we will cycle to Buckingham Palace & a very special finale on The Mall. If you are in or near London on 2nd June it should be an incredible day.
The route for the ride has been mapped out now and if you want to see exactly where we will be Help for Heroes & Mapmytracks have loaded the route here I don’t use Mapmytracks and to be honest it doesn’t seem to cope very well on a smartphone unless you have the app installed but hopefully it will mean you can see where the riders are during the ride. As I’ve explained before I use the Strava app on my phone to record my rides and will upload each days riding, battery & technology permitting!
One of the other guys on the ride has also plotted each day’s ride so courtesy of PJ here they are:
Day 1 Paris to Compeigne
Day 2 Compeigne to Amiens
Day 3 Amiens to Etaples
Day 4 Etaples to Calais
Day 5 Calais to Chatham (via Dover)
Day 6 Chatham to Blackheath
This is 360 slightly undulating miles overall plus 12 miles or so from Blacheath to the finish plus extra some days to the hotels & getting lost & diversions from the route to visit cemeteries etc so all in all I’m expecting to clock up 400 miles or so!
I’m lucky that my Mum & Dad will be in Paris to see us off & Vicky & Liz my sister-in-law & nephews will be in London to see us arrive.
I will say thanks in advance to Mum & Dad for hosting a quiz in Duras in France tonight towards my fundraising, a proper thank you to them & Claire & Adam and everyone else will follow along with an update on how that will increase my total so far too! On the Thank you front Mal & Ali stalwart friends & fundraisers for H4H in Warwickshire deserve a big thank you for badgering & cajoling money out of people consistently towards my total and for Help for Heroes generally all year. Dave Eastoe all so deserves a shout out. Dave organised a collection at Lakeside Shopping Centre on Saturday. There were 11 BBBR riders and assorted helpers who between us collected over £1800 from the generous shoppers of Essex. It was again great to meet up with more of the fab individuals who will be on the ride some as nervous newbies others as repeat returners! The true star of the day though was Help for Heroes Mascot Hero Bear who turned up to support us and was a huge hit with the kids

20130513-235608.jpg
including as you can see the big kids me & Tim Collins. It was warm work collecting & with all that fur Hero Bear deserves a special shout out & thanks!
While the clock is still remorselessly ticking down to the ride and as the anticipation builds each day I’m still thinking how much more there is I want & need to do….
Unlike lots of the riders I still haven’t got my Help for Heroes kit for this year’s ride but hopefully I’ll collect that tomorrow from the courier company.
My bike needs a good clean /service & possibly 2 new tyres still, I need to get myself a bag, pack, unpack & repack a few times, book my train ticket to London for Departure day, get some more training miles in, raise some more pennies from work, oh yes and blog about how all that is going!
I don’t normally trail what I’m planning on blogging about in advance as it’s normally dependent on what I see or hear or think about on any given day that I can turn into a blog but don’t be surprised to read more about the Warrior Games this week, oh and something about The Dambusters 70th possibly?
Thanks for reading and keep on donating at http://www.bmycharity.com/SimonWParistoLondonpedal
Thanks
Simon.
PS here are some more photo’s from the Tedworth House Training ride & another YouTube video showing what the Big Battlefield Bike Ride’s are all about .

Leave a Reply

