Slacking

badge

I haven’t been slacking really but I haven’t posted a blog for a while but now  have a few bits to tell you about.

This week we found out that Beer will be a penny a pint cheaper, but the bit of the budget that got my attention was the news  that some of the fines imposed on Banks for fixing the LIBOR rate would be used to pay for Christmas boxes for Service personnel serving overseas this year and next and to help service personnel with Mental Ill health through support to the charity Combat Stress. £35M has already been taken from the £300M in fines imposed by the FSA and dispersed via the Armed Forces Covenant Reference Group.  That £2M can be used to help the work of Combat Stress to support veterans can only be a good thing.

I tweeted before about the Veterans Oyster Card for Service pensioners in receipt of a war pension which allows free travel across the TfL network and i’ve applied for mine this week.

Something i’m going to apply for is the Armed Forces Veterans badge they weren’t available when I left the RAF and i’m proud of my service and proud to be a veteran albeit only a young one!

Last plug is for the Rewards for Forces scheme which does what it says on the tin really!

The Hidden Cellar

Last night Vicky & I were invited to the re-launch of The Hidden Cellar Restaurant in Eastbourne.  Andy & Sue the owners have kindly offered to support my fundraising for the Big Battlefield Bike Ride and they very generously allowed me a few minutes to explain a bit about Help for Heroes, the Hero Ride and my reasons for supporting Help for Heroes.  Our local MP Stephen Lloyd spoke about supporting local businesses and I’m keen to do that and to thank the local businesses who have supported me.  The Hidden Cellar is a lovely little Bar/Restaurant with a fab menu with lots of quality award winning food sourced, supplied and in the case of the fish caught locally. If you live in or are visiting Eastbourne, call and see them for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a coffee and a breather.

Help the Heroes

Lastly for now on Good Friday I’ll be bag packing & collecting at ESK Eastbourne if you are local drop in and say hello, and on 20th April i’ve arranged a Hero Quiz at the Naval Club in Eastbourne, for more info drop me a line via simonwcharityride@hotmail.co.uk

Thanks again for reading and don’t forget you can donate towards my fundraising online here or by texting BBBR51 £2 to 70070

Leave a Reply

